General Practice Accreditation

General practice accreditation encourages general practices to pursue continuous quality improvement and best practice standards.

For detailed information about preparing your practice for accreditation, visit our Resource Library and search under the General Practice Accreditation drop down menu.

Alternatively, contact the Practice Assist Help Desk to organise a pre-accreditation mock survey visit from one of our staff.

How can your practice demonstrate achievement?

There is a range of methods and techniques that can be used to demonstrate your practice's achievements against the standards, criteria and indicators, including:
  • patient records
  • practice documentation
  • patient feedback questionnaires and feedback data
  • discussions between members of your practice team and accreditation surveyors

The Practice Assist Policy and Procedure Practice Manual

The Practice Assist Policy and Procedure Practice Manual is a full set of template policies and procedures designed to assist in achieving best practice standards in your Western Australian general practice.

The Policy and Procedure Manual has been created based on the model of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) Standards for General Practices: 4th edition (the Standards) with each chapter of the manual correlating with a section of the Standards and addressing each ‘criterion’ of the Standards within the related chapter/s.

It is the intent of the manual that, by working your way through it and completing a comprehensive set of policies and procedures, each of the Standards will be met.

Practice Assist recommends that general practices modify this document to reflect the nature of their individual policies and procedures. It is also recommended that practices use this manual in conjunction with other resources available from Practice Assist, the RACGP, Australian General Practice Accreditation Limited (AGPAL), GPA Accreditation Plus, the Australian Health Professionals Registration Authority (AHPRA), the Australian Medical Council (AMC) and other professional bodies.
Practices are encouraged to add any practice or location specific policies, procedures, templates, checklists and forms to their policies and procedures.

The complete Practice Assist Policy and Procedure Practice Manual is available below: Watch this space as we revise this set of policies and procedures to meet the new RACGP Standards for General Practices (5th edition)

Practice Incentives Program

An accreditated general practice is also eligible to participate in the Practice Incentives Program (PIP) administered by the Department of Human Services.
Current PIP incentive payments include: In addition, the Practice Nurse Incentive Program incentivises general practices to employ practice nurses, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workers or Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Practitioners. Aboriginal Medical Services may also attract the PNIP to employ allied health professionals. 
Practice Assist acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the country on which we work and live and recognises their continuing connection to land, waters and community.

We pay our respects to them and their cultures and to Elders both past and present.